Our People

/Our People
Our People2022-02-14T10:18:23+11:00

We are Sydney Women’s Fund

A voice for women and a force for change

Photo courtesy Liverpool Neighbourhood Connections

Sydney Women’s Fund has been at the forefront of gender lens grantmaking to grassroots charities supporting women and girls across Greater Sydney area for over ten years now.

Sydney Women’s Fund invests, inspires and supports opportunities for local women and girls to thrive.

Like the women’s funds of New York, Washington, and London, Sydney Women’s Fund is supported by women who choose to give together, using their profiles, ideas, skills and resources to ensure all Sydney women and girls thrive.

SWF’s ‘Portrait’ research forms an evidence base to inform Government; Private Ancillary Funds; Corporates; and Individuals; on resource gaps in social investment in women and girls, and guides our granting to greater equality and impact.

Established in 2006 by first Chair of Sydney Community Foundation Wendy McCarthy AO, Sydney Women’s Fund is Sydney Community Foundation’s most active sub-fund.

Our Patrons are Lucy Brogden and Wendy McCarthy AO. Our founding donor was successful business woman Julia Ross.

We continue to inspire giving. In 2014 Deanne Weir of the Weir-Anderson Foundation pledged $500,000 over 5 years enabling our programs in Western Sydney to continue helping women and girls in need.

(Left to right: Sydney Community Foundation Vice Patron Rosalind Strong, Sydney Women’s Fund Advisory Council member Deanne Weir of the Weir-Anderson Foundation, Dame Marie Bashir AD, CVO, Sydney Women’s Fund Patron Wendy McCarthy AO, Sydney Community Foundation CEO Jane Jose, Sydney Women’s Fund Patron, Lucinda Brogden. Photo Yann le Berre)

Our Leadership Team

Patrons, Sydney Women’s Fund 
Wendy McCarthy AO
Lucinda Brogden AM

Advisory Council, Sydney Women’s Fund 
Georgina Byron AM, Chair
Niki Kesoglou, Deputy Chair
Larissa Behrendt AO
Lucinda Brogden AM, (Patron)
Benedicte Colin
Jane Jose, OAM
Sophie McCarthy (Chair Sydney Community Foundation)
Genevieve Smart
Nicola Verco
Joanna Ryan
Melissa Chan

Alumni, Sydney Women’s Fund
Clare Ainsworth-Herschell
Deanne Weir
Marta Dusseldorp
Alice LeMessurier
Bobbi Mahlab AM
Justine Waters
Deanne Weir
William Smart
Allison O’Shea
Rosalind Strong AM

Board, Sydney Community Foundation 
Sophie McCarthy, Chair
Georgina Byron AM, Deputy Chair
Benedicte Colin
Corinne Kemp
Elizabeth O’Brien
Lisa Chung AM

Our Staff

Chief Executive Officer – Jane Jose OAM
Finance Manager – Roshni Anand (Maternity leave 2021-2022)
Finance Manager – Daniela Triunovic
Manager Be Kind Sydney – Jodie Streckeisen

(02) 8030 7050
52 Victoria Street, Paddington NSW 2021